Skip Navigation

Website Sections

News Releases

Vermont Law Professor Elected Board Chair of Snelling Center

December 17, 2010

SOUTH ROYALTON, VT -- Vermont Law School Professor Cheryl Hanna has been elected as chairperson of the board of trustees of the Richard A. and Barbara W. Snelling Center for Government.

Hanna, who has served on the Center's board since 2007, will steward the non-profit group's mission to foster responsible and ethical civic leadership, encourage public service by private citizens and promote informed citizen participation in shaping public policy in Vermont. Among her goals are ensuring the Center's long-term financial health and expanding its mission to reach a broader spectrum of Vermonters. "I am delighted take on this challenge," said Hanna, who was elected Monday. "The Snelling Center has been at the forefront of developing leaders through the Vermont Leadership Institute, the Vermont School Leadership Project and our many other excellent programs. Good public policy and citizen engagement can't happen unless we have well-trained leaders."

Hanna, who is a constitutional law scholar at Vermont Law School, has served on the Council for the Future of Vermont and received the Sister Elizabeth Candon Distinguished Service Award by Vermont Women in Higher Education.

Mark Snelling, president of the Snelling Center, said the timing of Hanna's election was important. "This year has been a very good year for the Snelling Center, and I am delighted we will have Cheryl's leadership and expertise on important Vermont issues to continue our momentum and ensure our success."

VLS Dean Jeff Shields praised Hanna's commitment to public service and the community. "Cheryl Hanna is a great leader, a champion particularly for women and children," he said. "She has a keen political sense and great charisma. I know she will be an outstanding chair for the Snelling Center, an institution which is unique and crucial to Vermont."

For more information about the Snelling Center, go to

CONTACT: John Cramer, Associate Director of Media Relations

Bookmark and Share