Vermont Law School Presents Free ‘Hot Topics’ Summer Lecture Series On Environmental Issues

Throughout the summer, Vermont Law School faculty, distinguished scholars, media fellows, and others will deliver one-hour "Hot Topics" lectures on a variety of current issues in environmental law and policy. Free and open to the public, the lectures will be held on Tuesdays and Thursdays, May 30-August 1, on the VLS campus in Oakes Hall Room 012. Vermont Bar Association Continuing Legal Education (CLE) credit is available.

The 2019 Hot Topics are:

  • Thursday, May 30: “The Challenges Of Adapting To Climate Change And Sea Level Rise In San Francisco Bay” with Tim Eichenberg, San Francisco Bay Conservation and Development Commission.

  • Tuesday, June 4: “Farming Nemo: CAFOs of the Sea” with Pamela Vesilind ‘08, Vermont Law School.

  • Thursday, June 6: “Using Science and the Law to Achieve Coexistence in a Crowded Ocean” with Sarah Reiter ‘13, Vermont Law School.

  • Tuesday, June 11: “Negotiating the Value Chain: A Study of Surplus and Distribution in Indian Markets for Food” with Amy Cohen, Ohio State University Moritz College of Law.

  • Thursday, June 13: “The Mexican Border: Property Rights & The Environment” with John Echeverria, Vermont Law School.

  • Tuesday, June 18: “China’s Belt and Road Initiative: What Is It, and What Does It Mean For the Environment?” with William Schulte LLM '15, Vermont Law School.

  • Thursday, June 20: “What’s In Your Water?” with Jen Duggan, Conservation Law Foundation Vermont.

  • Tuesday, June 25: “Externalizing Europe’s Energy Policy in EU Free Trade Agreements: A Cognitive Dissonance Between Promoting Sustainable Development and Ensuring the Security of Supply?” with Anna Marhold, Tilburg Law School.

  • Thursday, June 27: “The Trump EPA and the Toxic Chemical in All of US” with Annie Snider, Politico.

  • Tuesday, July 9: “Confronting America’s Captive Tiger Crisis” with Delcianna Winders, Lewis and Clark Law School and Heather Rally, PETA.

  • Thursday, July 11: “Disclosing the Danger: State Attorney Ethics Rules Meet Climate Change with Victor Flatt, University of Houston Law Center.

  • Tuesday, July 16: “Climate Change in the Courts” with Ellen Gilmer, E&E News.

  • Thursday, July 18: “Lobster Wars, Vanishing Cod, and Other Effects of Warming in the Gulf of Maine” with David Abel, Boston Globe.

  • Tuesday, July 23: “Environmental Justice in the Anthropocene” with Carmen Gonzalez, Seattle University School of Law.

  • Thursday, July 25: “Clean Energy Justice: Charting an Emerging Agenda” with Joel Eisen, University of Richmond School of Law.

  • Tuesday, July 30: “The Flint Water Crisis: A Case of Environmental Injustice” with Kathleen Falk, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

  • Thursday, August 1: “Playing With Poison: The Toxic Legacy of Lead Contamination in America’s Urban Centers” with Yvette Cabrera, Huffington Post.

 

For more information, visit www.vermontlaw.edu/summer or contact Courtney Collins at 802-831-1371 or ccollins@vermontlaw.edu.